Chamblee54

I’m Not Joking, I’m Just An Idiot

Posted in Uncategorized by chamblee54 on December 31, 2011





On the last day, of what might be the last year, online bookpushers Amazon / Barnes&Noble quit selling a calender. The festive item, by Joe King, is called “I’m Not Gay, I’m Just a Sissy”. (If you want to see what the fuss is about, click here )
Some say the calender was homophobic and yukky. Others think it is unfunny. Like everyone else, Mr. King has a fb page, and has a few opinions about the matter . “I feel like David vs. the gay Goliath. Where is every body? That’s OK, I still have a sling shot… ” Mr. King calls himself “The Most Dangerous Cartoonist in America”, and has been censored before .
There is one comment on Mr. King’s fb page that is being quoted today. It is part of a comment thread that started with this: “Hoo-we! Hell hath no fury like a he/she scorned… The telephone tree of tantrums is lit up like a Las Vegas marquee for “Boy-Lesque” today with hate mail, threats of boycott and even the risk of Jesus spitting on me for my “Sissy” calendar. I SAID I WAS A SISSY UP FRONT. Ironic who the real bullies are isn’t it? Let’s see if I get a call from Oprah’s people or even Anderson Cooper… ” For those with too much free time, here are the comments that followed.
Joe King Like most bullies bluffs, the facts outweigh the fists: with almost 100 hissy- fits being thrown today only a couple of my calendars are in actual circulation. All the hysteria is coming from those nice folks who haven’t bothered to actually purchase and read my collection. Stranger still – these are REPRINTS of nationally distributed work several years old. No outcry then. Even funnier, reprint rights were obtained by “Q” one year- Utah’s largest gay paper. GUESS WHAT THE “Q” STANDS FOR? http://www.funnypaperz.com/Q-Salt-Lake1.htm
Joe King Let’s see how far the truth gets before being bullied to death…
Eric C. Martin Cartoonist HAAAAAAAA! THAT’s funny!
Joe King The “truth” is that AIDS is an “elective” disease. It STOPS the day guys quit sticking it to each other. And for the tragedy of women and children infected… THAT stops the day their gay husbands and fathers stop cheating on them. Anyone need MORE education, science or funding to understand THAT?
Chris Rullestad I think gay people are funny…I always have. If this offends anyone, send your hate mail to Joe King.
Joe King The gays are using some online blog to muster enuff negative comments to have my calendar pulled. One of the weirder points of contention is an editorial cartoon from 2005 when the marketing motto that year was “WE ALL HAVE AIDS”. I AM BEING ACCUSED OF MAKING THIS STUFF UP. Apparently being gay involves some type of selective memory as well.
Eric C. Martin Cartoonist You know, I don’t hate or dislike gays . . . JUST the organizations and sites like towleroad or GLAD. I’m not surprised at the dishonesty on said website.
Joe King Well talk about cramming something down our throats… I didn’t invent it, I didn’t market it. I just collected my commentaries over the past decade into a single collection.
Think I struck a nerve… or a blow?
Royce Moore Horn Joe … People are stupid – that’s why there are rocks :)
Joe King They really don’t like my self-caricature either… I think I look hot.
Joe King The real joke is that the editor I worked under for 6 years was a lesbian. She thot they were funny enuff to publish. Some of the bloggers said they would forgive me if I was funny.
Joe King Like I said, one of the cartoons was bought by Utah’s largest gay paper – they thot it was funny. Maybe it’s a generational thing? Today’s gay blogger have no knowledge of their own culture or history and this retrospective collection has really knocked them off their perch (Bird Cage reference they won’t get either!)
Joe King Bottom line: Andy has a hard on for me.
Joe King Anyway, thank you Andy for the best promotion all year!
Joe King Aint the first time I’ve been banned – won’t be the last. I was born with a loud mouth and an itchy shirt, bury me next to the Baptist.
Karl Dixon You keep going Joe, the world needs more of you and less of them
Joe King I dunno Karl, a little bit of me goes a long way.
As noted , Mr. King has a rainbow ribbon on his website. Regarding those tacky rumors, Mr. King says “I think I know why I’ve been such a sissy – I may be a lesbian trapped in a man’s body – cuz I just LOVE women!” Pictures are from The Library of Congress . HT to Richard Rothstein.




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

