Chamblee54

The N Word

Posted in Georgia History, Race by chamblee54 on February 2, 2012







The good thing about not having a big audience is the freedom to discuss touchy subjects. I can say more or less anything I want, and since very few are reading, there is no problem.
With that in mind, I approach the subject for today’s lesson…the “N word”. It doesn’t get much touchier. We all know what that word is. It has six letters, rhymes with trigger, and makes the brains of some people turn into jello. It is a derogatory phrase for people of African origin.
I try to avoid using this term. There are four main reasons for this. If I ever get paid for doing this I will come up with a top ten list.
1- The “N word” hurts people’s feelings. I have known many fine Black people, and my life is much richer as a result. I do not want to say anything that will hurt these people. As for the not so fine Black People that I have known, they are G-d’s children, just like me. My fellow human beings do not deserve to be insulted just for who they are.
2- Being heard saying the “N word” can cause all sorts of problems. This can include physical retribution, loss of employment, lawsuits, and having to listen to enough loud angry words to make you wish you had never learned how to talk.
3- It is not a fair fight. There is no equivalent phrase for a Black Person to say to a white person. I do not wish to give that power to another group of people… to turn me into a mass of incoherent rage, just for hearing a six letter word.
The closest thing to this is “Cracker”, which I only recently found out was an insult. This is odd, because when I was a boy, we had a minor league baseball team called the Atlanta Crackers.
4- The use of the “N word” demeans the user. When you say an insulting word about another human being, you make yourself look bad. When you hate someone, you hurt yourself worse than the person you hate. And frankly, a lot of these people are not worth it.
This feature was originally posted at my original blog, and copied three years ago. I wrote in first person shamelessly. Pictures are from The Library of Congress
Since I originally posted this, a Kansas/Kenya man, with dark skin, has been elected President. The playing field is having a fruit basket turnover. No one is really certain what is what anymore, except things are different. Or maybe they are the same. It is 2012.
I would like to further comment on is the reality of black people using the “N word”. It is a word that degrades the person who uses it. For a person of color, it degrades them as the object, as well as the speaker. I cannot help but wonder why a person would want to do that to them self, their family and their community. I realize that, as a white person, this is none of my business.
It is like smoking cigarettes. Yes, it is legal, and you have the right to pull toxic chemicals into your body. But why on earth would you want to?






10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. gary Simmons said, on February 2, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    When a black comedian uses the N word everyone laughs. Are they making themselves as well as their friends look stupid? If so why isn’t any one offended by it?

    Saying the N word is like cussing. Most of us do it,black and white. The bottom line is it shows our ignorance.

    I am amazed when I read a book that the author has to dedicate a few pages of detailed sex acts and a few pages for cussing. It tells me he just has a lousy vocabulary and that is the only way he can get your attention.

    Wait, wait, did I just say that is the only way he can get your attention. What is the black comedian trying to do? What is the red neck trying to do? What is the ignorant black man on the corner trying to do?

    Listen close to someone who freely throws the N word around. 99% of them also cut loose with a lot of cussing. Like a screaming baby that just wants to draw attention to themselves. Who it offends isn’t important. It is all about them.

    This isn’t about race as much as it is about being self centered and stupid.

    You know we have thrown every offensive deed we can think of at race. I say get over it. Stupid people say stupid things. Always have and always will. Racist don’t have stupid cornered.

    Thanks for allowing me to rant a little. .

    • chamblee54 said, on February 2, 2012 at 2:46 pm

      Thanks for stopping by.
      I could add something, but too much thinking makes my head hurt. It is time for another joke email.

  2. PG and the N word « Gartalker's Blog said, on February 2, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    [...] gary Simmons said, on February 2, 2012 at 12:49 pm [...]

  3. Racism Is Obsolete « Chamblee54 said, on April 26, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    [...] This might be a function of ABR/AWR manifesting in different ways. 07- Chamblee54 has posted on The N Word before. 08- I am not a policeman. I do not drive a taxi. I do not carry a purse, and therefore [...]

  4. Cuss Words « Chamblee54 said, on May 29, 2012 at 11:48 am

    [...] With a profitable holiday in May, mother will always be said on television. There is another forbidden word. It *triggers* strong reactions. If Mr. Carlin had used this word in his monolog, his career would [...]

  5. [...] From the N word to POC. Labels for groups of people can cause problems. I have expressed myself on the N word before, and don’t have much to add. As for POC, that is even sillier. Colored people is an [...]

  6. Jesus Gets A New Nickname « Chamblee54 said, on February 13, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    [...] the rounds now. The title involves Jesus, and a certain racial slur that is delicately known as the N word. When you go to many links, you get this message. “Jesus is my N…” This video is [...]

  7. The N Word 2013 | Chamblee54 said, on July 8, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    […] a person would want to do that to them self, their family and their community? This feature is a repost. Pictures are from The Library of […]

  8. […] From the N word to POC. Labels for groups of people can cause problems. I have expressed myself on the N word before, and don’t have much to add. As for POC, that is even sillier. Colored people is an […]

  9. Jesus Gets A New Nickname | Chamblee54 said, on February 4, 2014 at 7:01 am

    […] the rounds now. The title involves Jesus, and a certain racial slur that is delicately known as the N word. When you go to many links, you get this message. “Jesus is my N…” The video is […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 222 other followers

