Chamblee54

Dorothy Parker

Posted in Uncategorized by chamblee54 on June 21, 2012











PG first heard of Dorothy Parker in tenth grade. His friend Bob Gibson cut the poem Resume out of the literature text book, and carried it in his wallet. Mrs. Parker had been dead for two years at the time, with her ashes resting in her attorney’s filing cabinet. As the years rolled on, there were stories about the round table at the Algonquin hotel, and a poem about W.R. Hearst … Upon my honor, I saw the madonna, by the door, in a niche, of a well known whore, and a prominent son of a bitch. There was a movie, and more stories. One day there was a comment, to a post called Raw, Uncooked, Protesting . The comment went: Re “The Cardinal’s Mistress” by Benito Mussolini, Dorothy Parker wrote one of my favorite bon mots: “This is not a book to be tossed aside lightly. It should be thrown with great force.” PG decided it was time for a Dorothy Parker tribute. The google search for “Michele Bachman Weird” can wait a day or so, and will probably have a million more results. These quotes are from the quotations page .There is a political ad for the Presidential election. Pictures today are from “The Special Collections and Archives,Georgia State University Library” This is a repost. ~ A little bad taste is like a nice dash of paprika. ~ Brevity is the soul of lingerie. ~ I don’t care what is written about me so long as it isn’t true. ~ I might repeat to myself slowly and soothingly, a list of quotations beautiful from minds profound – if I can remember any of the damn things. ~ I’ve never been a millionaire but I just know I’d be darling at it. ~ If all the girls who attended the Yale prom were laid end to end, I wouldn’t be a bit surprised. ~ If wild my breast and sore my pride, I bask in dreams of suicide, If cool my heart and high my head I think “How lucky are the dead. ~ If you want to know what G-d thinks of money, just look at the people he gave it to. ~ Take care of the luxuries and the necessities will take care of themselves. ~ The best way to keep children home is to make the home atmosphere pleasant–and let the air out of the tires. ~ This is not a novel to be tossed aside lightly. It should be thrown with great force. ~ That would be a good thing for them to cut on my tombstone: Wherever she went, including here, it was against her better judgment. ~ They sicken of the calm, who knew the storm. ~ The cure for boredom is curiosity. There is no cure for curiosity. ~ I’m never going to be famous. My name will never be writ large on the roster of Those Who Do Things. I don’t do any thing. Not one single thing. I used to bite my nails, but I don’t even do that any more. ~ Oh, life is a glorious cycle of song, A medley of extemporanea; And love is a thing that can never go wrong;And I am Marie of Romania. ~ Men seldom make passes At girls who wear glasses. ~ She runs the gamut of emotions from A to B. RE: Katharine Hepburn ~ I require three things in a man. He must be handsome, ruthless and stupid. ~ Scratch an actor – and you’ll find an actress. ~ I went to a convent in New York and was fired finally for my insistence that the Immaculate Conception was spontaneous combustion. ~ Money cannot buy health, but I’d settle for a diamond-studded wheelchair. ~ Ducking for apples – change one letter and it’s the story of my life. ~ My land is bare of chattering folk; the clouds are low along the ridges, and sweet’s the air with curly smoke from all my burning bridges. ~ The affair between Margot Asquith and Margot Asquith will live as one of the prettiest love stories in all literature. ~ The only “ism” Hollywood believes in is plagiarism. ~ That woman speaks eighteen languages and can’t say “No” in any of them. ~ Four be the things I’d have been better without: love, curiosity, freckles and doubt. ~ “I really can’t come to your party Mrs. Parker, I can’t bear fools.” “That’s strange; your mother could.” ~ “Coolidge is dead” “How could they tell? ~ You can’t teach an old dogma new tricks. ~ You can lead a whore to culture, but you can’t make her think.







2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] meme is seen below the fold. The image has a quote. “I hate writing. I love having written. Dorothy Parker.” When PG sees words of wisdom, with a famous name at the end, his impulse is to check it out. When […]

  2. […] other day there here on the dotty subject of Dorothy Parker quotes. The departed dipsomaniac would seem to be a quote magnet. One quote that appears to be genuine is […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 214 other followers

