Chamblee54

Infinite Monkey Theorem

Posted in Commodity Wisdom, The Internet by chamblee54 on September 11, 2012








This web page at http://www.awkwardboners.com has been reported as an attack page and has been blocked based on your security preferences. ~ I met the Italians at the Townhouse for drinks. Then I took the subway in the wrong direction and found myself in Brooklyn. A bit fuzzy from the Bombay Sapphire Maritinis, I asked the conductor who leaned through the car window of the 7 train, “Does this go to 42nd where I can connect to the #1?” He said yes and I entered with skepticism. In the course of the trip I saw the Chrysler Building more than once. I never take the #7. It was quite fantastic, and the faces were all new. The people of the #7. I got home and took off my shoes: turquoise boaters. I stepped out of them next to the other pairs I have worn today for biking, an interview, gym. I was filled with a desire for a life wherein one wears only one type of shoe all day long and every day. One pair of shoes for the year and if they wear well, for several years. Who lives like that? Do you know anyone who has only one pair of shoes from dawn to dusk and through all four seasons. That’s what I want. I don’t know anyone who has that life. I will be the first. (fb) ~ What kind of person would ever run a blog like this ? Truly disgusting if you ask me. Anonymous ~ But no one asked you ~ Self-pity is easily the most destructive of the nonpharmaceutical narcotics; it is addictive, gives momentary pleasure and separates the victim from reality. – John W. Gardner (fb) ~ Meditation: There’s a truth in every lie, and falsehood in every truth. If you watch the mechanics of how a magic trick works…its means little. If you sit back and enjoy the ride you get a whole show, one that may remind you of what endless possibility felt like. How is showing potential a lie? Deeply our hearts knows the freedom and mobility of spirit…sometimes we need reminders that limitation is yet another fleeting illusion. (Does any one want me to do this for the whole major arcana? I need moral support here!) (fb) ~ A door to door preacher just visited. He asked ” Where can I go to find truth”. I told him that seeing him walk down the driveway would be truth. ~ “It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.” ― E.E. Cummings (fb) ~ “I was never one to patiently pick up broken fragments and glue them together again and tell myself that the mended whole was as good as new. What is broken is broken – and I’d rather remember it as it was at its best than mend it and see the broken places as long as I lived. ” ― Margaret Mitchell (fb) ~ “Let me never fall into the vulgar mistake of dreaming that I am persecuted whenever I am contradicted.” — Ralph Waldo Emerson (fb) ~ Creating only shares some information publicly. If you know Creating, send her a friend request or message her.~ Twitter says that the tweet threatening to hang me is “not actionable.” – “We have investigated the reported account and have found that it’s not in violation of the Twitter Rules at this time. We have a policy against violent threats, but the content of this account lacks the specificity to meet the criteria of an actionable threat.” (fb) ~ When everyone is trying to be something, be nothing. Range with emptiness. Human should be like a pot. As the pot is hold by its emptiness inside, human is hold by the awareness of his nothingness.(fb) ~ Please don’t “thank” me for my patience. Just apologize for your incompetence and the inconvenience. (fb) ~ Religion is for people afraid of going to hell.. Spirituality is for people who have already been there… (fb) ~ “The difference between a GOP convention and Comic-Con is the people at Comic-Con have a much firmer grasp of reality.” — Bill Maher (fb) ~ There was a sign once. It said that G-d handles all problems. My question was, does this refer to the creation of problems, or their solution? ~ What is significant in one’s own existence one is hardly aware, and it certainly should not bother the other fellow. What does a fish know about the water in which he swims all his life? Alber Einstein ~ In urban political geography today, my professor said, “Yeah, I really don’t know why this local pride or local solidarity thing manages to convince urban populations to do things. I suppose someone must have done some work on that, but buggered if I have any idea what it is.” … really? REALLY? This is a well-respected social scientist – a geographer, true – at the end of a long career. I may not be on top of the economic sources of power in urban politics, but it comforts me to know that there are some questions that anthropology speaks well on, and other disciplines do not. /pretentious (fb) ~ I find this whole trend of people re-questing to be “de-friended” based on support of a political party alarming. I also fell that right out “de-friending” someone based on political affiliation is equally as alarming When you do this you become a singular “party of no”. You end the conversation, you move backwards, you create a greater divide. I understand that differing views are personal on many levels but this is not progress or forward momentum. We must keep conversations open and start to bridge the divide not widen it. If I had one major take away from The First Lady’s speech last night it is this. No matter if you’re Democrat, Republican, Moderate, we are all Americans and in this thing together for the long haul. Let’s keep building bridges so that haul is a little less of a burden. (fb) ~ “History is a cyclic poem written by Time upon the memories of man.” ~ Percy Bysshe Shelley (fb) ~ Whats up, yes I am still in need of a man to meetup with. I’m not in need of a committed relationship how ever, there simply are not enough minutes in the day. I’m only in need of a man as a sex buddy, Both of us get what we need with none of the commitments. ~ True story…. before I was born my Mom was discussing baby names with her canasta group gals from St Matthews in the ‘Boro and said she was going to name a boy baby ‘John’. One of the other ladies exclaimed to her, “Oh, don’t name him ‘John’! Every Tom, Dick and Harry’s named ‘John’!’ ” :>) (which was pretty close….the Prez, Pope, our parish priest and our family Dr who delivered me were all ‘John’) (fb) ~ this month october has 5 mondays, 5 tuesdays, and 5 wednesdays. this happens once every 823 years. this is called money bags. So share this on your wall and money will arrive within 4 days. (Based on Chinese Feng Shui) ~ White coral bells upon a slender stalk, Lilies of the valley deck my garden walk. On, don’t you wish that you could hear them ring? That will only happen when the fairies sing. ~ The artist uses the talent he has, wishing he had more talent. The talent uses the artist it has, wishing it had more artist. ~Robert Brault (fb) ~ Somebody listened to Joseph Campbell too long. ~ The blogger who condemns Fr. DeVito is named Mary Griffin. If you’d like to let her know how you feel about her self-righteous and judgmental position, you can email her at brooklyncatholic@yahoo.com. I promised both Fr. DeVito and his cousin that our conversations would be off-the-record but I will say that, years from now, when the next generation of bishops and cardinals and popes will suddenly listen to the Holy Spirit and announce to us that women may be ordained, that married people may be ordained and that gay is a non-issue, we will all be arguing about whether Fr. DeVito’s strategy of remaining within the church while working in subtle ways to usher in these changes was right or wrong. Should he have boldly proclaimed his convictions and been given the boot as have other priests? No matter which side of that argument is yours, you will owe him some degree of thanks for the good he has accomplished. Note to Bishop Man-Sell, if you now want to echo what you personally believe about LGBT equality, you can do it by making DeVito a monsignor, or is that too fearless a gesture for you? (fb) ~ There was a yard sale on the way back. Someone has cleaned out a den, and has ten boxes of VHS movies for sale. For two dollars, PG took home The Treasure of Sierra Madre, North by Northwest, Rear Window, Days of Heaven, Torch Song Trilogy, Carrie, Forbidden Planet, A Hard Days Night, Das Boot, and The Dirty Dozen. Unopened sets of James Bond movies are still available. ~ can we go back to when Facebook was about Farmville and untagging terrible, drunken photos? I’d rather get 10,000 Mafia Wars invites instead of reading desperate pleas of people trying to validate their opinions/thoughts/existences through a screen. (fb) ~ We don’t use logic when we think. We use logic when selling/defending what we have thought. ~ everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing it is stupid. ~ Don’t believe everything you hear people say. ~ “You can’t convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it’s based on a deep seated need to believe.” – Carl Sagan (fb) ~ I write like says this display of effluent was written like William Shakespeare. Does this support the Infinite monkey theorem? Pictures are from The Library of Congress. ~ Selah







Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers

