Chamblee54

Nine Eleven Story

Posted in Georgia History, Politics, Religion by chamblee54 on September 11, 2012






This is my 911 story. I repeat it every year at this time. Pictures today are from ” The Special Collections and Archives,Georgia State University Library”.

I was at work, and someone called out that someone had run a plane into the World Trade Center. I didn’t think much of it, until I heard that the second tower had been hit, then the Pentagon, then the towers collapsed, then a plane crashed in Pennsylvania.

I focused on my job most of the day. There was always a lot of melodrama at that facility, and concentrating on my production duties helped to keep me saner. This was roughly the halfway point of my seven year tenure at this place.

One of the other workers was a bully for Jesus. He was a hateful loudmouth. After the extent of the damage became known, he shouted “They are doing this for Allah,” and prayed at his desk. The spectacle of the BFJ praying made me want to puke.

I became alienated from Jesus during these years. Once, I had once been tolerant of Christians and Jesus, as one would be with an eccentric relative. I began to loath the entire affair. I hear of others who found comfort in religion during this difficult time. That option simply was not available for me.




2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael said, on September 11, 2012 at 8:42 am

    Since people will be asking “Where were you” today, I had gone into work as I always had. I always got to the office by 8:30 so that I could leave by 5. I was working when one of the other people in the office came in and told me that the World Trade Center had been hit by a plane. I thought it was some kind of joke because I remember the basic rules of flight and knew that air traffic rules over New York City wouldn’t allow for something like that to happen. I went back to work. A little later I decided to check the internet and found that the WTC had indeed been attacked. I didn’t think much of it, and continued to work. About 11 AM, one of the partners came out and told me that because of the fact that we were working in the tallest building in the area, we were at risk for the same kind of attack, so I was to go home. I did, and caught some of the coverage on TV.

    • chamblee54 said, on September 11, 2012 at 9:15 am

      Thanks for stopping by. It is good to hear from you again.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

