Chamblee54

Fighting On Twitter

Posted in Library of Congress, Religion, The English Language, Undogegorized by chamblee54 on May 17, 2017


There was a twitter battle last week. It was mildly ironic, and amusing to one of the participants. There may, or may not, be a message about Jesus here. If you want to skip over the text, and look at the pictures, you will be excused. The pictures are from The Library of Congress.

PG was on twitter, using his nom de tweet @chamblee54. PG found a tweet from @Phil_Johnson_ . Mr. Johnson is the founder, and copyright holder, of Pyromaniacs, a once popular blog . PG is banned from commenting at Pyromaniacs.

Did God Promise Health and Wealth? is the post linked to in the tweet. Mr. Johnson is a doctrine enthusiast. This post is an example. “I’d rather talk about the truth than concentrate on error. I love doctrine and instruction. … All of us need words of challenge and caution; not always words of blessing and benediction. The faithful preacher is obliged to “reprove, rebuke, and exhort””

PG is a recovering Baptist. He disagrees with most of what he hears of Christian doctrine. To PG, the best way to know Jesus is through the words, and deeds, of his believers. Sometimes Jesus gets dragged into personal quarrels. Believers find a way to work through this, and go on believing. To PG, this is one more reason to stay home on Sunday morning.

For some reason, PG looked at Did God Promise Health and Wealth? He saw some graphic mistakes. Here is a screen shot. The version at the site has been corrected. Of course, the internet never forgets, and here is a cached copy. Here is an ironic example of the graphic errors: “Every Christian has a duty to differentiate between truth and errorCto proclaim truth and refute error.”

@Phil_Johnson_ Did God promise health and wealth? link to post
@chamblee54 “Cand reproof and correction” “Cespecially when false teaching” “truth and errorCto proclaim” Did you proofread this?
@Phil_Johnson_ I didn’t post it. Someone else does that. Looks like the WP conversion changed my em-dashes to capital Cs. Should be fairly obvious.
@chamblee54 do you take responsibility for something published with your name?
@Phil_Johnson_ Not if I’m not the one who published it. Why? Do you think I deserve a fine or a public flogging?
@chamblee54 dude you are a professional You should not allow something like this to go out It makes you, and Jesus, look bad
@Phil_Johnson_ Jesus “looks bad“ to you because someone posted a sermon transcript with typos? I don’t think that’s the real reason you hate Him, Chamblee
@chamblee54 either you are responsible for what goes out under your name, and “in the name of” Jesus, or you are not who said I hate Jesus anyway?
@Phil_Johnson_ You did. Frequently. Here, for instance, you flatly disclaim the Jesus of Scripture:
@chamblee54 #ThingsJesusNeverSaid anything in the bible
@chamblee54 that is not “hate” I don’t believe that the bible is an accurate record of what Jesus said… my tweet is a slight exaggeration
@Phil_Johnson_ Jesus: “If you love me, you will keep my commandments” (John 14:15).
@chamblee54 some scholars say entire book of John is suspect … all you had to do was change web page with typo you must love to quarrel
@Phil_Johnson_ That’s not MY webpage. I don’t post my own sermons. I told you that. If you weren’t looking for a quarrel, why keep pressing the point?
@chamblee54 I am replying to you A web page, with the name of a church that employs you as executive director, would appear to be your responsibility
@Phil_Johnson_ As you know, appearances can be deceiving. Sorry. So what’s your verdict on my original question—fine, or public beating?
@chamblee54 Neither fine or beating are helpful opening tweet: Did God promise health and wealth? Maybe responsibility for grammar from pro editor
@Phil_Johnson_ PS: I am not employed by the church. I’m a lay person.
@Phil_Johnson_ PPS: And I may be an editor, but I’m not such a grammar Nazi that I would demand the keys to every website that botches my transcripts.
@chamblee54 Instead of beating/fine, why not delete the tweet, or suggest that people not retweet it… did anyone else notice this? does anyone read?
@Phil_Johnson_ You could always just listen to the sermon, so your eyes won’t be assaulted with a computer error every time my transcript used an em-dash.
@chamblee54some people don’t like having their doctrine criticized…subject of post… compare to your reaction to having the graphics criticized
@Phil_Johnson_ Criticize all you like. I said in my first reply that the punctuation is wrong. But (as I keep saying) ***I don’t operate that website.***
@chamblee54 you continue to recommend the content, even knowing about mistakes that have your name on them
@Phil_Johnson_ While I do appreciate your deep concern about my editorial credibility, there’s little I can do tonight to correct someone else’s webpage.
@chamblee54 if you do not object, I would like to write about this exchange on my blog… if you do object, then I will not do so
@Phil_Johnson_ Please feel free to write about it. Thanks for asking, but even if I object to your opinion, you have every right to express it.
@Phil_Johnson_ Turns out they fixed it for you: link to post

The tweet #ThingsJesusNeverSaid anything in the bible, deserves a comment. Is this evidence of hatred for Jesus? Does it “flatly disclaim the Jesus of Scripture”? Maybe Jesus is more than the result of translating Aramaic, to Greek, to Latin, to English. Maybe Jesus is a living spirit, seen in the words, and deeds, of those who will not quit talking about him.

When you hear Americans quote the Bible, they almost always use an English translation. This English document is said to be “The Word Of G-d.” When you consider that Jesus spoke Aramaic, not English, you realize that Jesus did not say any of the English sentences that he is given credit for. One of the few things PG believes is the G-d does not write books.

That is it. Two white guys exchanging tweets. Nobody was saved, or damned. Was PG in error by saying that Jesus looks bad as a result of this? Maybe. With all the mud on Jesus’s face these days, a few em-dash errors aren’t going to hurt. Should people tweet links to a post containing unsightly errors? Probably not. Do people like to quarrel on the internet, for the sake of quarreling? Is the topic of debate just an excuse for some good time twitterbashing? Anybody who cares can answer that.

Leave a Reply

