Chamblee54

Civilian Victims In War

Posted in Library of Congress, Weekly Notes by chamblee54 on October 23, 2023


The display of a link on this page does not indicate approval of content.
Why Israel’s bombardment of Gaza neighborhood left US officers ‘stunned’
“you can’t say, it doesn’t matter what the truth is here” #youcantmakethisup
A surprise attack by Hamas on Israel, which combined gunmen breaching security
NDTV Explains: Was Israel Warned Of Hamas’ Attack And What Did Egypt Say?
The language of conspiracy: psychological analysis of speech used by conspiracy …
Who was behind the Gaza hospital blast – visual investigation
How Israel’s Spies Failed—and Why Escalation Could Be Catastrophic
Why you might have lost all your Jewish friends this week and didn’t even know it.
New depostion that county medical examiner of George Floyd lied about cause of death …
Hannibal code and Dahiya doctrine: Israel’s controversial directives which could already …
Israel, Hamas, and the Laws of War | Robert Wright & Sarah Leah Whitson
Doctors Are Paid To Talk Nonsense With Patient Until Nature Heals Or Remedies Kill
17-year-old girl dies after being shot several times at home near southwest Atlanta park
The Israel Attacks: Beyond the Obvious with Efrat Fenigson, Bret Weinstein
Insider admits Israel attack was false flag to start holy war, usher in one world government
IS THIS THE END OF WAR IN UKRAINE? HAMAS, WHO IS BEHIND IT?
Scott Ritter, “Why I no longer stand with Israel” – MUST WATCH INTERVIEW!
Israeli Conflict Takes Eschatological Turn + Ukraine War Updates
Stop Bombing Gaza’: Jocko Sounds Off On Israel Military Tactics | Breaking Points
MSNBC BENCHES Muslim Anchors After ADL Commands | Breaking Points
How to Beat Stereotypes by Seeing People as Individuals We often judge people by ….
Exclusive: ‘Mutiny Brewing’ Inside State Department Over Israel-Palestine Policy
Joseph Campbell and the Power of Myth | Ep. 1: ‘The Hero’s Adventure’
How China and Russia can help us avoid escalation in the Middle East
5:05 / 35:31 Earthling Unplugged: Why Israel’s Anti-Hamas Strategy Is Failing
Israel’s current approach is clearly wrong. Here’s a better way to fight Hamas — and win.
@benryanwriter The term BIPOC had a moment, but now the @APA is arguing it is insensitive.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
ong ~ ong ~ not the occupation ~ manhattan project ~ einstein quote
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
einstein quote ~ inclusive language guide ~ apa ~ gaza ~ channel 4
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
gaza ~ darkhorse ~ @efenigson ~ golden ratio ~ caravaggio.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
bandcamp ~ norm finkelstein ~ brookhaven festival ~ utbaph ~ Koyaanisqatsi
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
gaza ~ 911 ~ gaza ~ muzak ~ fbi
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
sunday bloody sunday ~ java ~ L5p ~ repost. ~ quark ~ repost
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
repost. ~ sex pot ~ sex pot ~ combat forum ~ channel4
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
adl ~ conspiracy theory kit ~ goodreads ~ rand ~ academia ~ repost
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
fbi ~ fbi ~ fbi ~ luke the drifter ~ luke the drifter ~ human shields
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Happy Birthday Oscar Wilde ~ this is the chamblee54 monday morning digest for this week. ~ is it cultural abomination or vulgar unsightly appropriation ~ use the plus sign with control shift as a backspace ~ mansplaining The Urban Dictionary has entries for both mansplain and womansplain. Neither entry is complimentary. This is a repost. Many of the links no longer work. The pictures are more entertaining. ~ at one point in their evolution, both the Grateful Dead and the Velvet Underground were known as the Warlocks. ~ at home in Berlin in April 1929, Albert Einstein received an urgent telegram from Rabbi Herbert S. Goldstein of New York: “Do you believe in God? … ” His reply: “Ich glaube an Spinozas Gott der sich in gesetzlicher Harmonie des Seienden offenbart, nicht an Gott der Sich mit Schicksalen und Handlungen der Menschen abgibt.” – Einstein received an telegram. His reply: “Do you believe in God? ” “Ich glaube an Spinozas Gott der sich in gesetzlicher Harmonie des Seienden offenbart, nicht an Gott der Sich mit Schicksalen und Handlungen der Menschen abgibt.” @QuoteResearch ~ the story is rather disturbing. (Spoiler to follow) Aoife is being sexually harassed at school, and files a complaint. The boy who gets metooed is the son of a laundry owner. … ~ This is a repost from 2020. It was a simpler time. … ~ this is a repost from 2020. It was a simpler time. … PG took his brother GP to early voting. Georgia/Dekalb county sent PG an absentee ballot in the mail, which he did not ask for. ~ what follows are selections from The Devil’s Dictionary, by Ambrose Bierce. Many things could be said about Mr. Bierce. TDD began as a newspaper column, and was later published as The Cynic’s Word Book. … ~ terpsichorean diarrhea ~ I never meant to say conservatives are generally stupid, I meant to say stupid people are generally conservative ~ “What I stated was, that the Conservative party was, by the law of its constitution, necessarily the stupidest party. Now, I do not retract this assertion; but I did not mean that Conservatives are generally stupid; I meant, that stupid persons are generally Conservative. I believe that to be so obvious and undeniable a fact that I hardly think any hon. Gentleman will question it. …” *In a Parliamentary debate with the Conservative MP, John Pakington (May 31, 1866). Hansard, vol 183, col 1592]. Pakington was referring to Footnote 3 to Chapter 7 of Mill’s “Considerations on Representative Government”: “The Conservatives, as being by the law of their existence the stupidest party” * Misquoted as “I never meant to say that the Conservatives are generally stupid. I meant to say that stupid people are generally Conservative. I believe that is so obviously and universally admitted a principle that I hardly think any gentleman will deny it.” in “Life of John Stuart Mill” (1889) by W. L. Courtney, p. 147. *This seems to have become paraphrased as “Conservatives are not necessarily stupid, but most stupid people are conservatives.” which was a variant published in Quotations for Our Time (1978), edited by Laurence J. Peter. ~ it is not scary to preach to strangers, but it usually creates ill will for jesus – this is what the third commandment is about … using sacred names without trust – this is for adults … i will leave it to your conscience about doing this to trick or treating children ~ Insider admits Israel attack was false flag to start holy war and usher in one world government ~ @iyad_elbaghdadi Good afternoon (or morning, or evening). I went dark yesterday, really dark. But I managed to sleep and I have some clarity about the Al Ahli hospital massacre that I want to share with you. I’ll only tweet this rambling thread today and then log off. Please read and share. – @iyad_elbaghdadi For 10 days we’ve been hearing openly genocidal statements fully supported and sometimes even endorsed by Western leaders, leaders who are supposed to stand up for “democracy”, “human rights”, etc. But not only for 10 days. This has been our entire lives. This has been 75 years. – @iyad_elbaghdadi It’s important to understand that we were primed to expect bloody massacres. For 10 days there’s been a long list of genocidal statements, clearly saying that everyone is a target, there are no civilian vs combatant distinction, hospitals aren’t safe, and vengeance will be severe – @iyad_elbaghdadi All of this was in our psyche *before* the news broke. That’s why when the frantic news came (I got it by whatsapp first) we were already primed to believe it. Because we were long expecting a bloodbath and every single second was a worse nightmare, wishing the worst won’t happen – @iyad_elbaghdadi This explains the virality of the news. What actually happened? There are lots of threads offering educated & uneducated guesses both ways and I’ll ignore all of them. There are few journalists on the ground. And we know there won’t be an independent investigation anytime soon. – @iyad_elbaghdadi But we’re past the point where the facts matter. Listen to Jordan’s FM explain why. Most Arabs & Muslims already formed an opinion based on a long history of Israeli brutality, disregard for human life, public lies, disinformation, and Western support. ~ apology to People of Color for APA’s Role in Promoting, Perpetuating, and Failing to Challenge Racism, Racial Discrimination, and Human Hierarchy in U.S. – Resolution adopted by the APA Council of Representatives on October 29, 2021 ~ Do not grow old, no matter how long you live. Never cease to stand like curions children before the great mystery into which we were born. ~ “people like you and I, though mortal of course like everyone else, do not grow old no matter how long we live. What I mean is we never cease to stand like curious children before the great Mystery into which we were born.” – Albert Einstein in a letter to Otto Julius Birger, September 29, 1942. ~ this is a remarkable video. I cannot find a youtube link, so if you have a twitter account you can go there. Apparently, some Arabs are not happy with Hamas.@hxhassan I haven’t seen such relentless interrogation of Palestinian leadership before, esp. in Arabic. On Saudi Arabia’s main TV channel, Hamas leader is clearly startled by the intensity of the questions & responses to his answers. Crucial points in next tweets ~ Luther Mckinnon @chamblee54 @coldxman I had to turn this one off. John’s reaction to the brewing Gaza genocide is to talk about social media. ~ I turned it off at 50 minutes. I heard “Hamas” many times. I do not recall hearing “Palestinian” To be fair, I heard it after the hospital bombing ~ @Yascha_Mounk Actually astonishing that, because of the extremism of the Republican Party and the depth of dysfunction in Congress, America currently does not have ambassadors in Israel, Lebanon or Egypt. ~ Hamas Leader Abroad Khaled Mashal Rejects Accusations Of Transgressions Against Civilians On October 7 Attack: We Have Nothing To Apologize For; Hamas Only Fights Soldiers, But Sometimes There Are Civilian Victims In War; Hizbullah, Arab Countries Should Do More To Help Us ~ Expanded Homicide Data Table 6 ~ 1 -“the Palestinian narrative is denying the holocaust” This is where I quit reading. ~ 2 – I agree that it’s not accurate. I wrote this long post in a very shaken state of mind, as one can be in a state of war. It’s clear that you were checking every word I wrote, so I still invite you to read all of them and try to get my message as a whole. I think both narratives are misusing the holocaust. But perhaps you should read about Palestinian authority’s president, Abbas’s book “the other face”, and his interpretation of the holocaust, which does resonate with the works of authors which are denying it. I’m not referring to analogies being made between the holocaust and the nakba. Even though I see an essential difference between the two, both are great tragedies that defined the rest of history for the peoples that suffered them. I am referring to concepts like a cooperation between Nazis and Zionists that initiated the holocaust, that are a main message in Abbas’s book. So even if saying “the Palestinian narrative is denying the holocaust” isn’t accurate, it does play an important role in the narrative as it’s expressed by Palestinian leaders. ~ 3 – I was writing a reply to your reply, and facebook told me that the post had been taken down. I am going to send this by private message. I could write for hours about this, and only confuse and depress all parties involved. Truth be told, I did go back to your original post. I can see how the comment that “triggered” me could have several meanings. It is tough to make sense of this clusterfuck. So much of our information is not true. I also have a life outside of this … for which I am intently grateful … and should go back to. …Thank you for your thoughtful answer. It is a very complicated situation. I feel a great deal of despair when I try to go through the massive amount of rhetoric, talking points, misinformation, malinformation, etc. etc. So much of what I have seen and heard so far is lies. I feel as though my opinion does not matter, so why torture myself with trying to understand this. I feel the US government has a great deal of the blame. Our unquestioning support of Israel is very harmful, similar to the way a … at this point facebook showed a screen … Post Has Been Removed The post or object that you were commenting has been removed by its owner and can no longer be commented on. ~ 4 – Thanks for your reply. I wanted to edit the post, as I realized you are right about the way I phrased my thoughts on Palestinian narrative. I got a message from FB that the post is now pending approval by group admin. But my main message is that both narratives, as they’re being expressed in the media and in educational programs, belittle or avoid the other side’s suffering and connection to the same land. I’m thankful for this conversation because I feel that this war naturally widens the gaps in communication. I’ve experienced quite some negative energy from faeries because of being an Israeli, and it’s hard for me to except that people that are anti-nationalists treat me and my faerie community in a nationalist way… basically all faeries in Israel are fighting against right wing governments all the time… And it’s frustrating to be judged by your governments actions, especially when you’re scared for your life and grieving friends AND the many innocent lives taken in Gaza by Israeli attacks. I believe it’s possible to fight for Palestinian freedom without justifying Hamas’s attack (not saying you did, but some other queer people do) ~ 5 – I am reminded of a conversation I had in the eighties. A man had an Israeli bf. I started saying all of the complaints du jour about Israel. Basicly that they are a warmonger state, and that they treat Palestinians like shit. Remember, this was before the Palestinian Authority, when Israel unapologetically occupied the west bank and gaza. My friend agreed with every point I made. I don’t think the conversation ever concluded, except for one of us to get more food. Nobody was angered by the discussion. I saw this person recently, at a GSV conference. (GSV is a spin-off of the radical faeries. I say that GSV is the faeries with indoor plumbing. … Talk about history is like quicksand. In all of the denunciations of Hamas, nobody seems to say why they gained control of Gaza. During the period between 1967 and quasi-independence, Israel did not prepare the Gaza residents for the chore of governing themselves. It should surprise nobody that when there was an election … for a people totally not familiar with democratic government … and the choice was between Hamas, and Fatah … much reviled in the west bank, and connected to the PLO … that the people chose Hamas. Also remember that Israel created Hamas, to serve as an opposition to the PLO. I could go on ad infinitum. I have a lot of thoughts, which I may collect and post on my blog i will keep you posted ~ 6 – I’m aware of the fact that Israeli leadership created Hamas… after the murder of PM Rabin, Nethaniahu did all he could to kill any hope for a peace agreement. As in many other countries Israel became more and more right-wing over the years, I believe the majority of people gave up on the idea of peace (that was never given a real chance). Regarding supporting building a democratic government in Gaza, you know as I do how complicated it is- any formal intervention by global and especially Israeli factors will be seen as looking down on the Palestinians. And we already know the effects of “behind the curtain” interventions. But at this moment I think that only global intervention can help, although it’s hard to trust it as well. This conflict is such a good deal for the weapon industry… It’s so fucking complicated and frustrating. ~ 7 I had a conversation with ___ in a private chat. I think it is best to keep it between the two of us. Everybody feels the need to express their wonderful opinions regarding this  situation. Few of these opinions will help. I would prefer to talk less, and listen more ~ This monolog includes pictures from The Library of Congress ~ selah

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.